Roots of Japan

漫畫 / 動畫

日本的漫畫及動畫於日本國內外皆有不可或缺的地位,其中有些作品甚至銷售至40個以上的國家。本次就來談談日本的漫畫與動畫吧!

日本的漫畫史是從什麼時候開始的呢?

具有滑稽樣貌畫風的「鳥獸人物戲畫」,是12世紀至13世紀左右被描畫的繪卷,據說是日本最古老的漫畫。其他的繪卷中也可以見到「漫畫對白部分」,將人物對話的內容描繪出來,當時的繪卷已開始出現了與現代漫畫類似的元素。

漫畫中用來表現人物的心理和動作等符號,在日本稱為「漫符」(例如在人物的額頭邊畫上水滴表示尷尬或困惑;畫上青筋代表憤怒等)。而「漫符」初次登場是在19世紀初發行的「北齋漫畫」中,「北齋漫畫」是葛飾北齋給弟子的臨摹繪本中的畫搞,後來以畫集方式出版,雖然與一般「漫畫」有些不同,但是其隨性、詼諧的畫風也意外地傳入歐洲,造成極大的好評與影響。

1862年出現日本國內的第一本外文漫畫雜誌「The Japan Punch」,是由駐日本的英國人Charles Wirgman所創辦,雖然內容是以諷刺方式描寫日本的風俗民情,但也將歐式的漫畫技法帶近日本。從這時候開始,開始出現形形色色的雜誌,在這個時代,主要的漫畫家也都是來自浮世繪畫家。

到了1932年,漫畫中常出現的分隔與對話框手法也開始固定下來。
在這之前大部分的漫畫是以毛筆作畫,後來也開始使用鋼筆等作畫,一些漫畫技巧受到歐式漫畫影響,因此創造出日本獨特的搞笑漫畫。除此之外,在小朋友雜誌等也開始刊載兒童漫畫的連載,或是發行單行本漫畫,但是對小朋友來說是高價商品,無法輕易購入,因此轉而對「紙芝居(中文意思為連環畫劇)」產生興趣。

1950 年代左右,出租漫畫與連環畫劇一同成為以小朋友文化為中心的流行,當時漫畫家們的每部漫畫僅僅手作的一件作品,賣給出租書店等於是賣其名。「鬼太郎」等作品的作者-水木茂即是其中一名。
就這樣漫畫休閒伴隨著小朋友們成長的同時,在專業或業餘的作家們之間的交流也逐漸興盛起來。但是在漫畫普及的同時,卻遇上了「壞書驅逐運動」興起。尤其是1955年到了「壞書驅逐運動」的巔峰,包含漫畫家手塚治蟲的代表作「原子小金剛」等漫畫,也被激烈的抗爭手段對付,集中在校園操場內進行「焚書」。
之後,在1959年發行了「週刊少年Magazine」以及「週刊少年Sunday」等小朋友取向的漫畫周刊,但對小朋友來說也是無法用零用錢購買的價格。
就這樣日本漫畫的發展在1995達到高峰,日本的漫畫文化已被認為是「看完即丟的物品」。

那麼,動畫的播放又是從什麼時候開始的呢?

1917年1月,由天然色活動寫真公司,製作了動畫作品「凸坊新畫帖 芋助豬狩之卷」,成為日本最早的國產動畫。身兼導演、劇本、製作的「下川 凹天(沖繩縣宮古島人)」,說是日本動畫創始者也不為過。
在1930年左右開始使用賽璐璐片之前,動畫製作是以剪紙動畫為主流。

日本的電視動畫始於1953年,以節目單元之一的方式,播放數分鐘的單集動畫。在漫畫史中登場過,由手塚治蟲製作的「原子小金剛」,同時也是1963年日本史上首部出現的正式電視動畫連續劇。一開始以每週1次30分鐘的方式播出,並在下一年創作了日本第一部電視動畫的長篇動畫電影「原子小金剛 宇宙的勇者」。
1965年同樣由手塚治蟲創作的漫畫作品「小白獅王(森林大帝)」,改編成為日本首部正式的彩色電視動畫劇,並且是以美國播放為前提所創作之作品。當時電影作品已經是以彩色方式製作,但是由於彩色電視未普及化,許多作品還是以黑白為主。

1990年後半左右,賽璐璐片逐漸消失。在這之前都是以賽璐璐片製作動畫,將畫在紙上的線條轉畫在稱為「賽璐璐」的透明膠片上,使用手繪方式製作而成,又被稱為「賽璐璐動畫」。將這些繪製好的膠片排列順序後進行拍攝,其過程繁瑣之外,也需要耗費相當多的技術及人力成本。
隨著科技的發展,賽璐璐片逐漸不被使用,動畫製作開始進入數位化,以電腦讀取人工手繪原稿,此後的過程皆可在電腦上處理製作,上色色彩的選擇也從80色增加至1600萬色,2013年幾乎已看不見賽璐璐動畫製作。

而原本只是製作動畫要件之一的賽璐璐片,後來在世界各地都有收藏家,有些作品的賽璐璐片甚至具有高額價值。偶爾也會在展覽會中見其蹤跡,特別是吉卜力作品中的賽璐璐片更受到大眾歡迎!

日本動畫為什麼在國外會這麼受歡迎呢?

①對於漫畫﹑動畫的認知不同
對其他海外國家來說,動漫畫是屬於小朋友的東西,因此在製作上都會以小朋友為取向。但是在日本不同,日本的漫動畫主題多樣性,不僅是小孩的樂趣,連大人也能閱讀及欣賞!

②題材廣泛
總而言之題材廣泛是日本漫畫及動畫的特色。
從戀愛、校園生活、科幻、懸疑、奇幻、歷史、文化等不勝枚舉,也多虧了這一點,為廣大讀者和觀眾帶來不厭其煩的樂趣。

③日本特有的細膩畫法
2016年在全球造成轟動的動畫電影「你的名字。」,導演新海誠素以寫實、自然唯美的表現方式為特色,電影中清新淡雅的風景及天空的景色讓人印象深刻。在日本還有許多像這樣細膩的作品尚未被其他國家注意到,有興趣的朋友不妨尋找看看!

除了上述三種說法之外,取決於不同讀者的想法,還有各種理由。
「覺得這個作品還好,那個作品我很喜歡!」,即使是同樣題材的作品,受到畫風、故事內的影響,帶給讀者的感覺也是截然不同!

日本漫畫、動畫對經濟效果又有什麼影響呢?

每年2次於夏季及冬季舉辦的動漫祭典「Comic Market」,簡稱「Comiket」,是一個提供以個人為主之創作作品的市場,即非商業發行的漫畫作品(一般稱為同人誌),藉此促進動、漫畫的交流與創新。首次開催於1975年,當時的參加人數僅700人左右,到了2013年時,參加者竟然已達到59萬人的紀錄。最近除了個人販售的同人誌區之外,也開始有動畫製作公司、企業等參加,提供給個人創作者支援的展示區。甚至隨著「Comiket」知名度越來越大,一些職業漫畫家或是遊戲公司也會以「公司名義」參加。「Comiket」所帶來的經濟效果,竟然可達180 億円,實在令人讚嘆!

為了「Comiket」活動,有些人可以花好幾小時排隊,鄰近的便利商店也是全面備戰應付龐大的消費人潮,飯糰或茶水等輕食像是不用錢一樣不斷被搶購,會場附近的飯店、咖啡廳等也會在那個期間擠滿了來自各地的參加者,從周圍的情況來觀察,應該也能體會到「Comiket」所帶來的經濟效應了!

像這樣對日本帶來極大影響的動漫畫產業,在東京秋葉原也經常可看見特地從國外前來朝聖的觀光客,如此喜歡日本動漫畫的外國朋友有這麼多,相信透過國際之間的交流,日本的動漫畫產業會更加興盛,未來也會有更多元的發展。
無論是還沒看過動漫的人,或是喜歡動漫的人,也趁這個機會找個喜歡的題材來看看如何呢?

此文章以筆者的觀點彙整而成,對於說法各有不同見解,請您事先理解。

Roots of Japan

Manga / Anime

Japanese manga and anime are popular both inside and outside of Japan.Some of these works are sold in over 40 countries worldwide. Today let's talk about Japanese manga and anime.

How far back does Japanese manga go?

Japan's oldest manga, meaning “comical picture”, is said to be “Emakimono” or illustrated scrolls called “Choju Jinbutsu” (caricatures of frolicking birds, animals and humans), which were painted back in the 12th and 13th centuries. Other “Emakimono” of this era include similar elements to what we see in modern manga, for example “fukidashi” or speech bubbles that contain the speech of the main character.

“Manpu”, the sweat, tears and veins etc. that represent the emotions of the characters, appear in “Hokusai Manga” by Hokusai Katsushika, first published in the early 19th century. Originally written as an art manual for his pupils, it may be misleading to call it “manga”. However, it was very popular and made quite an impact in Europe.

In 1862, Japan's first comic magazine “Japan Punch”, was published in English by Englishman Charles Wirgman. This marks the starting point for the appearance of various magazines. Many of the leading manga artists of this period were also former Ukiyoe artists.

The use of panel layouts and speech bubbles start to take hold by 1932. New techniques started to appear, such as converting what had been drawn up to that point with brushes to pens, and a uniquely Japanese style of “Gag Manga”, or comedy manga, was created. Comics from children's magazines were being serialized and published in book form. However, as these were too expensive for children to buy, “Kamishibai”, a form of storytelling using cards / boards became the center of attention instead.

In the 1950's, rental comics, which were at the center of children's culture alongside “Kamishibai”, became popular. Artists would make a name for themselves by creating a single manga by hand and selling it to a rental bookstore. Shigeru Mizuki, creator of “GeGeGe no Kitaro” etc. was one of these people.
The children who loved manga grew up and interaction between professional and amateur artists continued to flourish.

However, at the same time manga was becoming widespread, a movement to suppress evil or undesirable books was also underway.In 1955 when the movement reached its peak, manga including Osamu Tezuka's “Tetsuwan Atom”, or “Astro Boy”, were collected and burned in school grounds.

Later, in 1959, weekly comic magazines for children were launched, such as the “Weekly Shonen Magazine” and “Weekly Shonen Sunday”. These also were too expensive for children to buy with their pocket money. Sales in the now fully developed Japanese manga industry reached their peak in 1995 and “disposable manga” was recognized as a part of manga culture.

So, when did the broadcasting of anime begin?

In 1917, “Dekobō Shingachō: Imosukei no Shishigari no Maki”, produced and released by a company called “Tennenshoku Katsudō Shashin”, is regarded as Japan's first animation. It's no exaggeration to say that director, screenwriter and producer Hekoten Shimokawa, from Miyakojima in Okinawa prefecture, was the founder of Japanese Anime. Cutout animation was mainly used until cel animation was introduced around 1930.

TV Animation started in 1953, when one-off animations ran for a few minutes within a segment of a program. Osamu Tezuka's “Astro Boy”, which was also a part of manga history, became the first real animated television series in 1963. These were arranged in the current broadcasting style of 30-minute weekly shows, and in the following year he also produced “Mighty Atom, the Brave in Space”, Japan's first feature-length animated movie adapted from TV. The first full-color television anime was Osamu Tezuka's “Kimba the White Lion”, produced in 1965. This was based on American television broadcasting. Theatrical productions were already being made in color but as color televisions were not yet in widespread use, most programs were in black and white.

In the latter half of the 1990's, cel animation was discontinued. Previously, drawings which had been transferred on to a transparent sheet called a cel (short for celluloid) were colored by hand. Appropriately, this style was called “cel animation”. These were shot by changing and replacing the cels in sequence but it required skill and a tremendous amount of hard work.

However, with cel animation being discontinued, original hand drawings were imported into computers and subsequent stages were done by computer. The number of colors increased dramatically from 80 to 16 million. By 2013, cel animation was virtually extinct.

Today, there are collectors of animation cels around the world, and some of them sell for remarkably high prices. The works of Ghibli are especially popular!

So why did anime / manga become popular overseas?

1/ A perception gap regarding manga / anime
In Japan it's not only children but also adults who read, watch and enjoy Anime! Overseas, however, both manga and anime are seen as something to be enjoyed by children.

2/ A wide range of genres
There is really no limit to the number of genres in Japanese manga / anime. Love, school / youth, science fiction, robots, fantasy, history, culture etc... too many to write all of them! This makes it possible for a wide variety of readers to be entertained without growing bored.

3/ Exquisite drawings in a uniquely Japanese style
Landscapes and skies were beautifully illustrated in the 2016 box office hit “Your Name”. Really, it's the way color and nature are drawn and the method of expression that is so exquisite in each work by director Makoto Shinkai. There are many other exquisite drawings that are not well known overseas so look out for them!

There are many more reasons besides the three we mentioned. The interpretation changes depending on the impression of the reader. There are probably many who say “I hate this work, but I love that one!”. Because even within the same genre, the drawings and storyline can be completely different!

What are the economic benefits of manga / anime?

Comic Market”, commonly shortened to Comiket, is an “otaku”, or geek, fair held twice a year in summer and winter. The first event was in 1975 and 700 people attended. By 2013, up to 590,000 people were recorded attending. This had an economic benefit of 18 billion yen! Comiket is an exhibition and sales event but recently you'll not only find those selling “Dōjinshi”, or self-published works, but also anime production companies and manufacturers who set up booths and sell related merchandise. People line up for hours for this. In neighboring convenience stores “Onigiri” (rice balls) and “Ocha” (green tea) fly off the shelves. Nearby cafes and hotels are filled with guests. You can see the huge economic benefits of this event!

This is how the Manga / Anime industry has a significant impact on Japan. We often see foreign tourist in Akihabara. There are so many people who enjoy anime / manga and we are grateful to these overseas readers and viewers.

Some people haven't seen any yet, while others really like it.
How about taking this chance to have a look at some manga / anime?

It is my opinion and summary. Please acknowledge that there are various opinions.