Roots of Japan

侘・寂 "Wabi-Sabi"

提到『WABI ・SABI』,日本人應該都聽說過。可是您知道最初它並不是一個好的概念之詞吗?現在用于表達日本的美意識,但是「侘」和「寂」原本卻是兩個完全不同的單詞。
在長期的歷史發展過程中,將他們合為一詞使用,也只不過是近期的事情。

侘【WABI】是動詞「WABU」的名詞形式。
含有落膽・失意・失望・痛苦悲傷・難看等內面的意思。
用來表達享受嫻靜的生活,是從中世紀以後才開始的。

寂【SABI】是動詞「SABU」的名詞形式。也寫成「然:音SABI」。
形容原本應有的東西得不到滿足時的心情 ・對人的思念、悲傷等。
物品因長期使用而惡化的狀態,如「金屬生鏽」的「鏽」字。
「寂」這個漢字,表現了寂靜無人的景像。相對「WABI」而言,「SABI」則多指外在的、外表的狀況。

以上是不是覺得與美意識相差甚遠呢?
那麼,到底從什麼時候開始變成了現在使用的「WABI ・SABI」的呢?

讓我們先來看一下「WABI」吧。
原詞的「WABU」標記為古語,以致在萬葉集(7世紀後半至8世紀後半)裡有著和歌的記載。鎌倉時代「侘」變成了表現「不足之美」的一種新形式的美意識。但此時還只停留在概念上,並沒有形成文字的東西。室町時代後期得到了迅速發展,並融入至茶道之中。聽說江戶時代前期的有名詩人松尾芭蕉,將「WABI之美」發揚光大。(至今還傳說著在歷史的發展中,是一種埋沒於庶民之間的美意識。)

如果說「WABI之美」的形成是在江戶時代,那麼此前又是如何形容美意識的呢?

很遺憾,沒有完全相同意思的詞。「麁相(SOSOU)」被認為詞意最為接近,但是以「WABI茶」為眾人所知的千利休等人,不喜歡「麁相(SOSOU)」一詞,所以得出詞意並非完全相同之論。
與以豪華、賭博、飲酒為主流的茶會相反,「WABI茶」則重視店主與客人在精神上的交流。完成這一進展的是村田珠光(室町時代中期僧人)。在能阿彌學習过書院茶的珠光,非常重視「侘WABI」的精神,認為簡素簡單、樸實節約方可稱之為美。
這樣一來,即由原來的概念轉變為「在貧窮・不足之中尋求一種可以充實心靈深處意識」的概念。

另一方面,「寂」又如何呢?

原詞的「SABU」,也有作為古語的記述,同樣以和歌登載與萬葉集裡。如前面所述,「寂」,也寫為「然」,據說這是為了體現由「SABI」原意的「內部的本質」「滲透到外部」的变化。
另外,就「寂」而言,原本並不是一個好的概念。例如,「寂寞」…相信大家曾經都使用過,也知道它是來自「SABU」一詞。那麼,從什麼時候開始用於美意識的呢?現在就讓我們來了解一下。
鎌倉時代末期的「徒然草」裡有「古物耐人尋味」之記載,因此已有了其概念的存在。如此隨著時間的流逝,事物的本身並不只是變得陳舊、劣化而已。如眾所周知的鐮倉大佛、美國的世界遺產自由女神等。據說銅器一旦生鏽,顏色將會變為青綠色,這正好說明了只有經過時間考驗的東西,方可產生與眾不同的獨特之美。

另外,在我們的日常生活中也有很多其它類似的東西。比如:牛仔褲、皮革制品、黃銅等等。當然有人喜歡新的東西,但是長期被使用過的東西所特有的、奇妙的痕迹,是新品所不及的,這大概就是「寂」吧?
室町時代對於俳諧(日本的短詩)十分重視,當時的俳諧師松尾芭蕉認為應以「一門的俳諧作為基本理念」,之後的芭蕉作品漸漸以美意識為主流。然而關於「寂」的記述卻寥寥無幾。而「寂」和「侘」一樣,談論茶道精神時是不可缺少的,可是在利休時代的茶文獻裡卻沒有記載,真的很意外!
據說江戶時代以後俳諧開始盛行,由於「寂」的精神擴大,使其與「侘」在茶道中的結合也顯得格外重要。從這個時候開始,人們的概念隨之有了變化,即「在幽寂之中,對於那些有著深奧及富有的物品本身则感受到其自然之美」。

因此,「侘」「寂」被世間認知,但「WABI・SABI」的稱呼聽起來有點土氣。西方喜愛人工的、完整無缺的東西;而日本則認為自然的、不完整的就好。
扔掉不必要的東西、無需裝飾、尋求簡單。任其自然,直至腐爛生鏽。雖感寂寞、失落,
但從中可以感悟到精神上的豐富和美麗之處。

因此,「侘」「寂」被世間認知,但「WABI・SABI」的稱呼聽起來有點土氣。西方喜愛人工的、完整無缺的東西;而日本則認為自然的、不完整的就好。
扔掉不必要的東西、無需裝飾、尋求簡單。任其自然,直至腐爛生鏽。雖感寂寞、失落,
但從中可以感悟到精神上的豐富和美麗之處。

那麼,現今是以何種方式來感受「WABI・SABI」的呢?

以認知度較高、易懂的盆景為例。近年有不少海外盆景愛好家,與只欣賞植物本身的盆栽不同,盆景是借助植物的姿態來體現「自然」與「世界」,像是一個小小的花園。

日本的庭園。著名的有日本三名園(石川県金沢市:兼六園、岡山県岡山市:後楽園、茨城県水戸市:偕楽園)。每一個庭院隨著四季的變化,呈現出不同的景色。但只有在季節的尾聲,才會呈現最最美麗的色彩。
日本庭園的技法、手法多種多樣,如:借景・築山・遣水・浄土式・枯山水等。散步時如果用心留意一下,您會發現擦肩而過的每一個人都會帶著不同的表情、不同的目的沉浸於自我陶醉之中。

最後再來看一下顏色。在不同的季節以及各種活動中,裝扮成中千姿百態的東京晴空塔,使用LED照明来體現日本傳統色調「江戸紫」。光是標志就用了七種傳統顏色。另外,曾在「2014年最人氣廣告排行榜」中,排名第二的味之素株式會社的【和式調味料系列「和食以和色制作」】,是一個让我們可以更加深刻地了解日本食與色的廣告。沒有華麗的詞藻和特別的排場,即使樸素簡單的食材,也能體現出它的奢侈與美麗。在我們身邊應該還有很多沒有被注意到的『WABI・SABI』

對日本人來說,『WABI・SABI』也許過於普通,以致沒有過多的留意。它或許就隱藏在我們日常生活中不起眼的角落,那麼,就讓我們踏上尋找『WABI・SABI』的旅程吧!

此文章以筆者的觀點彙整而成,對於說法各有不同見解,請您事先理解。

Roots of Japan

Wabi-Sabi

What is “Wabi-sabi”?

Did you know that the word “Wabi-sabi”, a word that all Japanese people have heard of at least once, originally wasn't a very positive concept? One of Japan's aesthetic senses, “Wabi” and “Sabi” were originally two separate words. It is only in recent history that the two words were combined.

“Wabi” is the noun form of the verb “Wabu”.
Discouragement, disappointment, despair, sorrow, shabby etc. make up the main inner definition. From the middle ages, the term began to be used to express enjoyment of a quiet life.

“Sabi” is the noun form of the verb “Sabu”.
The kanji characters can be written either as “寂び” or “然び”.
Originally it conveyed feelings of dissatisfaction, a melancholy longing etc. And a deteriorated state over the passage of time. There is also a connection with the Japanese word “sabi”, “to rust”. After being given the kanji character “寂”, it began to mean a state of quiet solitude and desolation. In contrast to “Wabi”, it has a more “external” meaning.

So, what do you think?

It still seems far off from being an aesthetic sense of beauty. So, when did the term we now know as “Wabi-sabi” come into existence? First, let's unravel the meaning behind “Wabi”. The original word was “Wabu”, an archaic Japanese verb. This ancient word is found as far back as the Tanka poetry of the Manyoshu (“Collection of Ten Thousand Leaves” - late 7th to late 8th century), an anthology of ancient Japanese poems.

Then, changing conditions in the Kamakura period saw “Wabi” evolving into a new aesthetic sense that depicts an “incomplete beauty”. However, it was still only a concept and no word for it had yet been coined. One common theory is that its rapid development can be linked to the tea ceremony in the late Muromachi period and also to the haiku poet of the Edo period, Matsuo Basho, who pursued “The beauty of Wabi”. (These days there is also a theory that buried within history, this aesthetic sense can be found among the common people.)

If the expression, “The beauty of Wabi”, appeared in the Edo period, what words did they use before? Unfortunately, there were no words that have the exact same meaning. A close expression may be the word “Sosou”, or “coarse”. However, as the historical figure SEN no Rikyu, who had a profound influence on the style of tea ceremony called “Wabicha”, so disliked the word, we can see that it does not necessarily have the exact same meaning.

“Wabicha” emphasized the importance of the spiritual connection between the guest and the host, which was directly opposite to the luxurious tea parties that included gambling and drinking that were mainstream at the time. The person who started the trend of “Wabicha” is thought to be Juko Murata, a monk from the mid-Muromachi period. He studied a style of tea ceremony called “Shoincha” under the tea master Noami and found beauty in simplicity and frugality and felt the spirit of “Wabi”.

In this way, the original concept changed to a “consciousness that focuses on contentment within poverty or a lack of material possessions”.

On the other hand, how about “Sabi”?

The original word “Sabu”, was an archaic term that can be found in the Manyoshu anthology and also in Tanka poetry. As we wrote above, “Sabi” can be written as “寂” or “然び”, and the theory is that in the original meaning, “寂” was used to express an “internal essence” and “然び” conveyed a meaning of “flows to the surface”. Originally the kanji character, “寂”, didn't have a very positive concept. For example, “寂しい” or “Sabishii” which means “lonely”. No doubt it's a word you have also used at least once.

As you can probably guess, this comes from the word “Sabu”. When did the word change to mean an aesthetic sense of beauty? Let's investigate.

It seems the concept to “deeply appreciate things that are old” existed in “Tsurezuregusa” or “Essays in Idleness” written in the Kamakura period. In this way, there is more to the passing of time than simply deterioration. As you may well know, the Great Buddha of Kamakura and the Statue of Liberty (American World Heritage Site) etc., have a blue-green color called “Rokushou” or “Verdigris” which is a layer that forms on the copper when it rusts.

This is the beauty that is created with the passing of time. Other familiar items include jeans, leather, brass etc. Of course, some people will say new is best, however, over time many of these products will develop a charm that cannot be found in a brand-new item. This here is “Sabi”.

In the Muromachi period, special importance was placed on haikai, a seventeen-syllable poem. Basho Matsuo, a haikaishi or haikai poet of the Edo period said that: “The school of haikai shall decide basic philosophy.” In Haiku poems after Basho, an aesthetic sense of beauty became a central theme, but there seems to be very little record of Basho himself writing about “Sabi”.

“Sabi” as well as “Wabi” are both vital when talking of the spirit of the tea ceremony. However, there is no mention of it in the tea literature of the Rikyu era. How surprising! One theory is that as haikai poems became popular from the Edo period onwards, the spirit of “Sabi” spread and together with “Wabi” became an important part of the tea ceremony. From around this time, the concept changes from one that originally wasn't very positive to “naturally feeling a sense of beauty of the profound and the abundant, within a state of tranquility”.

In this way, it transformed into the “Wabi” and “Sabi” we know well. “Wabi-sabi” is, in other words, quiet, simple and unpretentious. While the West preferred things perfect and artificial, imperfection in its natural state was favored in Japan. Throw away the unnecessary and keep things plain and simple. At times it will fall into decay by just leaving it to nature. It may seem shabby and sad. But it's here that we find spiritual abundance and beauty.

So where can we feel “Wabi-sabi” in the modern day? Perhaps something well-known and easy to understand would be Bonsai, dwarf miniature potted trees. Recently we even hear of overseas fans of Bonsai. Different from simply enjoying a potted plant, Bonsai uses the shape of the plant to symbolize “nature” and “the world”. It is almost like a very small garden.

Also, there are Japanese traditional gardens. The famous Three Great Gardens of Japan are: Kenroku-en garden in Kanazawa city, Ishikawa prefecture, Koraku-en garden in Okayama city, Okayama prefecture and Kairaku-en garden in Mito city, Ibaraki prefecture. Each season brings a variety of beauty but it is especially at the end of the season that a different kind of beauty can be found.

As you take a walk in a Japanese garden keep aware of the various techniques and styles such as “Shakkei”, borrowed scenery, “Tsukiyama”, artificial hills, “Yarimizu”, garden streams, “Jodo style gardens”, a style of Buddhist temple garden or “Karesansui”, rock gardens and you may find you encounter thoughts and feelings, unique to your own experience.

Finally, color. Tokyo Skytree changes color with different lighting displays each season or by event and uses an LED lighting system to display a traditional color called “Edo purple”. Traditional colors are also used for the Skytree logo. The advertisement “Japanese seasoning: Japanese food made with Japanese colors” created by Ajinomoto Co., Inc. that ranked at number 2 in the “Best Ads of 2014” brought awareness to Japanese food and color that tends to be overlooked and forgotten, even by Japanese people.

It is not glamorous or flashy. It may seem to use the simplest of ingredients, but isn't that why it's indulgent and delicious? In this way, “Wabi-sabi” may really be more familiar to us than we had previously noticed. Japanese people may be so familiar with the concept that they stop noticing. However, the spirit continues to live on quietly, in simple everyday life. How about going on your own journey in search of “Wabi-sabi”?

It is my opinion and summary. Please acknowledge that there are various opinions.