Roots of Japan

和食

在西元2013年,日本以「和食:日本人的傳統飲食文化-以正月為例-」被列入UNESCO無形文化遺產中,『和食』再次引起世界關注,其知名度高,甚至在各國幾乎都有提供日本料理餐廳。日本料理指的是由日本的人文環境及社會所發展而成的料理,大致上分為『和食』與『洋食』兩種。

這次就以『和食』為主來做介紹吧!

首先,『日本料理』與『和食』這個名詞,是為了對應幕府末年至明治時代傳到日本的『西洋料理』及『洋食』而產生。在這之前沒有其他國家的料理,因此也不需要有區別料理的名稱。詞彙的產生算是最近才有的,那麼「日本料理」又是從什麼時候開始的呢?

那麼與「米」相關的料理又是如何變遷的呢?

在平安時代(794年-1185年?),當時只有蒸、煮、烤等簡單的料理方式,調味也僅使用鹽或醋,主要呈現食材本身的味道。到了鎌倉時代(1185年-1333年),出現了使用大豆或是小麥製作的料理,例如豆腐或麵類。與平安時代的料理方式相較之下,明顯地進化許多!

然而「味噌」也是在鎌倉時代開始被使用。在這之前是一種稱為「醬(hishio)」,味道濃厚的調味料。在熟成的過程中會變得非常美味,因此被獨立發展成一種食品,過程中還沒有成為「醬(hishio」,所以被稱為「未醬(mishou」,據說味噌(miso)就是從日文讀音mishou→misho→miso所演變而來的。

來到室町時代(1336年-1573年),製作出『和食』中不可欠缺的「高湯」與「醬油」。「高湯」可說是味道之本,鮮味成分中帶有胺基酸、核酸與營養,並賦予了香氣!「醬油」與「味噌」也可以作為調味料提出鮮味,但卻無法取代「高湯」的作用,不使用「高湯」的『和食』的確美味不足。甜味的部分會使用麥芽糖或味醂,當然也有砂糖,但是在過去砂糖價格較昂貴,因此不太普及。

就這樣出現了各種煮物(燉煮料理)或汁物(湯品)等料理,奠定了『日本料理』的基礎。

隨著時代的移轉,新的調味品與料理方式等會隨之而生,與現代的『和食』較為接近的據說是出現在江戶時代(1603年-1868年)。飲食生活產生巨大變化,即使是一般的庶民也可以輕易地品嘗到美食。例如路邊攤的「天婦羅」可提供外帶。此外,據說餐館的出現等也是從江戶時代開始。

如此慢慢成形的『和食』,又有什麼樣的特色呢?

①食材多樣新鮮,尊重食材原有的味道
②維持營養提供健康的飲食生活
③表現出自然的美感和四季的移轉
④與年中祭典節日有密切關連

以上四個項目在被列入UNESCO無形文化遺產時作為「和食」的定義。

日本位於亞洲的東方,南北狹長,大部分為溫帶地區,受惠於大海、山林、鄉村豐富的自然資源,因此在各個地區孕育出多樣性的食材,成為不同特色。

野蔬菜、水果、海鮮及海藻等種類及數量皆豐富,雖然歷史上肉類曾遭到禁止,乳製品也不太普及,但明治時代(1868年-1912年) 肉食禁令被解禁後,吃肉的風氣才又慢慢地傳開來。

「可以吃到美味的素食料理吧!」前往日本的外國遊客中,應該有不少人這麼想過!但是目前日本對於各國素食的認知及理解較低,提供素食料理的店家也還不多。這時不妨可以參考日本的「精進料理」。選擇「精進料理」可以避開一些動物性食材或蔥屬植物。只不過還是可能會有一些魚料理或使用海鮮高湯的料理,必須多加確認注意。

『和食』也被認為是一種健康且營養均衡的料理,以「一汁三菜(1種湯品及3種配菜為基本組成)」為理想的餐食組合。

在用餐的同時,透過器皿的陳設、季節性食材的選擇等,表現出自然的美感與四季的移轉,再利用花卉或是葉子等作為料理的裝飾,充分享受季節感。

要說海外最受歡迎的『和食』,那麼提到「壽司」應該一點也不為過吧!自從於江戶時代出現壽司之後,就在日本全國廣受歡迎,但是大家印象中的壽司應該還是「握壽司」對吧?

在日本不同區域也有各種「壽司」的「鄉土料理」喔!例如將醋飯和食材疊起,放進模具中重壓成型的「押壽司」就是其中之一,奈良縣的「柿葉壽司」及富山縣的「鱒壽司」等也非常有名。

這裡僅舉出「壽司」作為例子,在日本還有其他只有某些地區才吃的到的「鄉土料理」,經過歴史、文化、飲食生活及人類的影響孕育而成,即使到了現在仍然受到傳承的料理,也許這就是所謂的『和食』吧?


踏往從未去過的地方,與初次品嘗的美食相遇,或許您也可以發現連日本人也不曾看過的『和食』面貌喔!

此文章以筆者的觀點彙整而成,對於說法各有不同見解,請您事先理解。

Roots of Japan

Washoku

In 2013, UNESCO added “Washoku, traditional dietary cultures of the Japanese, notably for the celebration of New Year” to its Intangible Cultural Heritage list, with the result that traditional Japanese cuisine started to attract global attention, and is now highly popular with restaurants in many nations.Japanese cuisine refers to the food developed in the climate and society of Japan and is divided into two main categories - “Washoku” (Traditional Japanese) and “Yōshoku” (Western-style).

Today, our focus is on “Washoku”.

The term “Japanese cuisine” and “Washoku” emerged around the end of the Edo period and the start of the Meiji period, in response to the appearance of the words “Western cuisine” and “Yōshoku”.Prior to the introduction of food from other countries there was no need for each dish to be defined by a specific word.It's really only recently that these terms came into existence.So where can we find the origin of “Japanese cuisine”?

As you may have guessed - rice.During the Yayoi period (1700 - 2300 years ago), people hunted animals and ate nuts such as acorns until the rapid development of rice cultivation after its introduction via the Korean Peninsula.Rice has numerous health benefits.It is a nutrient-rich food source that is easy to grow and to store.From ancient times up until today, rice has been at the heart of Japanese food culture and it has had a significant impact on its history.

So how does a cuisine change when it revolves around rice?

During the Heian period (794 - 1185), only simple cooking methods were used such as steaming, boiling and grilling.Food was seasoned with salt and vinegar. This would keep much of the original flavor of the ingredients.Moving into the Kamakura period (1185 - 1333), dishes using soybeans such as tofu, as well as noodles made from wheat, started to appear.In comparison with the cooking methods used in the Heian period this was remarkable progress!

And it was in this period that “miso” came into use.Before miso there was “hishio”, a rich seasoning and early ancestor of soy sauce.During the aging process, some food was found to taste so good that it became a food or seasoning in its own right.For example, it was the product that had yet to turn into “hishio” that was called “mishō”, “mishō” was then called “misho”, then finally it became “miso”.

In the Muromachi period (1336 - 1573) the essential ingredients for “washoku”, “dashi” and “shōyu”, began to be developed.While “dashi” might be considered a basic ingredient, it contains the essential components for “umami” - amino acids, nucleic acid, nutrients and its own unique aroma.

“Washoku” without “dashi” would be very plain indeed!While “shōyu” and “miso” can also be included as seasonings with “umami” they can never be a true substitute for “dashi”.“Mizuame” (starch syrup) and “mirin” were commonly used to sweeten food.Sugar was available in the past but it was so expensive that it wasn't in common use.

In this way, many kinds of simmered dishes and soups were created and the foundation of Japanese cuisine was born.

With each new period came new seasonings and cooking methods and it was during the Edo period (1603 - 1868) that something similar to what we now know as “Washoku” neared completion.Eating habits continued to change dramatically so that delicious food was readily available even for the common people.For example, “Tempura” was served at food stalls and even take-out services were offered.It is also said that it was during the Edo period that the first restaurants were opened.

What are the characteristics of “Washoku” now, after all this time?

1/ Respect for diverse, fresh ingredients and their natural flavor.
2/ Balanced nutrition to support a healthy diet.
3/ Expression of the beauty of nature and the changing seasons.
4/ A close connection to annual events.

These four points made up the definition of “Washoku” when it was registered as a UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Located in East Asia, Japan has a mostly temperate climate stretching from the north to the south. It is a country favored with sea, mountains, villages and abundant nature.The diversity of food which is rooted in the local community is a distinctive feature of the country, along with cooking methods that have been developed to make the best use of resources, and light seasonings created for each individual dish.

Vegetables and fruit, seafood and seaweed are abundance and rich in variety. However, historically, eating meat was prohibited and the use of dairy products was not popular.But after the ban on meat was lifted in the Meiji period (1868 - 1912) the consumption of meat started to spread to the general population.

Visitors may come to Japan expecting a great deal of delicious vegetarian food. But recognition and understanding of vegetarian dishes in Japan is still low and few restaurants offer it as a choice. For that reason, we would like to recommend “Shojin Ryori”.“Shojin Ryori” is a cuisine made without animal products and vegetables such as green onions are also avoided.Please do be aware though, that fish may be served in a small separate dish.

“Washoku” provides excellent nutritional balance for a healthy diet.This is due to “Ichiju-sansai” - one soup and three side dishes- the basics of an ideal meal.As you enjoy your meal, feel the changing of the seasons with utensils, dishes, seasonal ingredients and decorations of flowers and leaves that match the season and express the beauty of nature.

There's no doubt about it, “Sushi” is the most popular “Washoku” in the world!From its first appearance in the Edo period the popularity of sushi soon spread all over Japan. Perhaps the image that comes to mind is of “Nigirizushi”- sushi that is shaped by hand.

However, Japanese regional cuisine offers many kinds of sushi.For example, “Oshizushi” or “pressed sushi”, where toppings are layered onto vinegared rice and tightly compressed together.In Nara, the specialty is “Kakinoha-zushi” - persimmon leaf sushi. “Masu-zushi” or pressed trout sushi is a local dish of Toyama Prefecture.

Here we have given “Sushi” as an example, but throughout Japan there are many kinds of regional cuisine that are unique to the local area.“Washoku” - a cuisine inherited by modern Japan, nurtured by history and culture, the people and their food choices.


Take a step into a part of Japan that you have never been to before and you might just discover some amazing new food.

As you keep on exploring, you will be sure to find new features of “Washoku”, maybe even some new to Japanese people!

It is my opinion and summary. Please acknowledge that there are various opinions.