Roots of Japan

日本雜貨

最受外國遊客喜愛的日本伴手禮應該是日本雜貨吧!日本雜貨體積小不笨重也被認為是優點之一,作為伴手禮送給海外或來日的友人等也相當受到青睞!

在眾多的日本雜貨中,我們將挑選「扇子」、「風呂敷」以及「和傘」來來介紹給大家。

【摺扇(Sensu)】
摺扇是一種扇動空氣製造風的工具。在儀式或是藝能表演中經常被使用。普遍摺扇適合右撇子的人使用,但現在也有販售左撇子專用的扇子。展開摺扇的方式簡單,以右手拇指先壓住骨架,稍微推動扇子即可展開扇子,摺疊起來時體積不大非常適合夏天攜帶外出,因此不少人喜歡在歇涼時使用。

摺扇的展開角度以120度為主流,據說這個逐漸展開的模樣具有繁榮的意思,是可帶來吉祥的形狀。
現在的摺扇較多把紙或布貼在骨架上做成,也有使用檀香等香木(能散發香味的木材)作為材料,將木頭削薄成片重疊做成扇面,不須燃燒就能夠自然散發出香氣,在盛夏可以取代線香,據說香氣有提神醒腦之效。如果損壞了也還能當作香木,讓空間或身上充滿香氣,實在一舉兩得!

除了「摺扇」之外,還有另一種稱為「團扇(Uchiwa)」的扇子。根據紀錄顯示,團扇從西元前就被中國與埃及使用,先前敘述的以薄木片重疊而成,或是以紙做成的摺扇才是日本的發明。最早出現的扇子是檜扇(Hiougi),以長30cm左右,橫幅2~3cm的檜木薄板重疊製作而成。

目前已有發現屬於奈良時代(710 ~794)的實際案例,只是當時的用途並非作為「扇風」,而是作為書寫的備忘錄來使用。之後,約在平安時代中期以前,出現了使用5~6支細骨架的蝙蝠扇,這時候的蝙蝠扇才是目前大家經常看到的摺扇的原型。日本的摺扇設計形形色色,不同材質與圖樣設計也帶出各種風格,您是否也會想找個適合自己的扇子呢?目前京都等地方有推出扇子的繪畫體驗,您可以在此畫出獨一無二的扇面!請務必親自體驗看看!

【風呂敷】
把物品用布包覆起來是起源於奈良時期(710-794)的作法。但至今還是會用來包覆宮廷舞蹈舞樂的衣裳。到了平安時期(794-1185)「風呂敷」被稱為「平包」。庶民用來包覆衣服放在頭上搬運。那麼又為什麼會被稱為「風呂敷」呢?起源說法有很多,但如名字「風呂敷」一樣,顧名思義是指在「風呂(澡堂)」中使用的「敷物(舖巾)」。

為什麼會被拿來在澡堂中使用呢?據說室町時期(1336-1573),當時的澡堂是屬於蒸汽浴。地板上雖然有「踏板」,但是如果直接坐下去會感到很燙,因此會舖上一層布。江戶時期(1603-1868)錢湯(大眾澡堂)開始在庶民之間普及,因此在澡堂會將脫下的衣服使用「風呂敷」收納好,之後也會站在「風呂敷」上更衣。從這個時候開始使用「風呂敷」搬運物品的機會也逐漸增加。

現代人是如何使用「風呂敷」呢?
雖然也會像江戶時期一樣用來包覆衣服,不過可以把「風呂敷」想像成包裝紙一樣來使用,包裝各種物品,像是用來包裹日本酒或紅酒看起來也格外高雅!依照不同的打結方式更可以將「風呂敷」改造成手提包!此外也有人拿來當作披肩,或是遮蔽櫃子的簾子等,「風呂敷」的用途可是有無限的可能性呢!

【和傘】
傘在欽明天皇時代552年傳入日本,據說是由百濟(古代朝鮮半島的一個國家)國王的使者所帶來的外來物品,當時的傘主要是作為遮陽用,後來才由日本自行研發改造成雨傘。和傘的種類各式各樣,如「番傘」、「蛇目傘」、「端折傘」等種類,這些都是雨傘類型,不過如果像現代的雨傘一樣倒立放置,傘的前端容易積水而造成損壞,應該掛在天花板或是屋前等陰涼處晾乾清除濕氣。

雖然說和傘的防水性佳,但是大多使用和紙製成,蟲蛀、濕氣或是大雨時還是容易產生許多問題。由於使用天然材料(竹子或木頭等)製作,傘的重量變得非常沉重,為了避免開傘時對傘造成過度負擔,開傘時需要將傘朝下展開後,再將傘面向上轉。到了明治時期(1868-1912)左右,伴隨著西化生活方式的引進,洋傘(西式傘)開始普及,和傘作為生活用傘的使用便隨之日漸減少。

現今作為雨傘使用更是微乎其微,除了在傳統藝能中作為表演道具之外,在部分旅遊觀光勝地,可能還能看到作為出租道具使用的和傘。不過直到現在製作和傘的店家仍然存在,其技術也被流傳至今。將傳統和傘作為室內裝飾也非常別緻。另外也有改良式的現代風和傘,外型如同和傘一樣優雅,相較一般8支傘骨的雨傘,現代風和傘多為較為堅固的16或24支傘骨,可抵抗強風大雨不容易被吹翻,準備想換把雨傘的人,也請務必考慮一下現代風和傘!

看完這些日本雜貨的介紹覺得如何呢?

隨著外來文化的影響,日本雜貨仍在生活中占有一席之地,其魅力即是至今日本建築在歷史中的「風情」。外國遊客將購入的日本雜貨拿到國外使用,想必能散發出與在日本國內時所不同的異國氛圍吧!在您前來日本旅遊時,不妨也挑個適合您的日本雜貨作為生活用品來使用看看吧!

此文章以筆者的觀點彙整而成,對於說法各有不同見解,請您事先理解。

Roots of Japan

Japanese Arts & Crafts

Japanese arts & crafts are one of the most popular souvenirs bought by foreign visitors. And because they don’t take up too much space, they’re also a popular choice among Japanese as a gift for friends or acquaintances living abroad or visiting Japan.

Today let's focus on three kinds of Japanese arts & crafts - “Sensu”, “Furoshiki” and “Wagasa”.

Sensu - Japanese foldable fan
A hand-held device designed to induce airflow. Called “Ōgi” in ancient times, it was a folding fan used in ceremonies and entertainment. It is believed the word “Ōgi” is derived from the words “afugu” / “aogu ”, meaning something which creates wind. They are generally designed for right-handed users; however left-handed fans are also sold.

It can be easily opened by sliding the frame of the fan with the thumb of the right hand. Many people love to use it to cool down when they go out in summer as it's easy to carry around folded up. Most open at an angle of 120 degrees. This open shape is called “Suehirogari” meaning “spread out like an open fan” and is considered auspicious, indicating good fortune and blessings will spread out like an unfolded fan.

These days many are overlaid with paper or cloth but there are also some made with flatly shaved and pleated “Koboku” or fragrant wood, such as sandalwood. Sandalwood is used as incense but it smells great even when it's not burning.
Fanning also help ease the heat of summer! And even if the fan breaks we can reuse it as fragrant wood, killing two birds with one stone!

In addition to “Sensu”, another device used to create airflow is the “Uchiwa”. Records show that “Uchiwa” was already being used in ancient China and Egypt but “Ōgi”, pleated with thin wood or paper, was invented in Japan. The first “Ōgi” to appear was called “Hiōgi”. Made from thin overlapping slats of Hinoki (Japanese cypress), it measured about 30cm in length and 2 - 3 cm in width. Examples have been found that date back as far as the Nara period (710 - 794).

However, its intended use wasn't to “create wind” but to write on like a “notepad”. Later, a folded paper fan with 5 or 6 ribs called “Kawahori-ōgi” made an appearance in the middle of the Heian period. This “Kawahori-ōgi” is the original form of the “Sensu” commonly seen now. Now that you've come to Japan, would you like to try making your own personal “Sensu”? In places like Kyoto, you can experience “Sensu” painting, where you create your own one-of-a-kind fan! If that sounds like something you'd be interested in, by all means give it a try!

Furoshiki - Japanese Wrapping Cloth
A piece of cloth used to wrap things, that dates back to the Nara period (710 - 794). “Furoshiki” that were once used to wrap up costumes used in Bugaku, a Japanese Imperial court dance, still exist today. By the Heian period (794 - 1185) it came to be called “Hiratsutsumi” or flat folded bundle. The common people would wrap their clothing in this and carry it on their heads. So, how did it come to be called “Furoshiki”? There are various theories, but the characters in the name suggests it came from the words “bath” (furo) and “to spread” (shiki).

But why would they spread out a cloth when taking a bath?

That's because in the Muromachi period (1336 - 1573), baths were more like steam rooms. “Sunoko”, or a slatted floor, covered the floor but it was too hot to sit directly on it, so they would spread a cloth over it.In the Edo period (1603 - 1868) the common people also began using “Sentō”, or public baths. “Furoshiki” was used to wrap the clothes they removed at the Sentō and also to stand on as they got changed. Around this time, “Furoshiki” became the common way to carry goods.

So, how is it used today?
While you can still wrap clothes with it like in the Edo period, it's also a beautiful way to wrap bottles of sake or wine. For the most part, we don't mind if you think of it as wrapping paper. Also, depending on the way it's tied, it would do very well as a bag! Some also use it as a scarf. Perhaps they could also be used as bookshelf curtains? The possibilities are endless with “Furoshiki”.

Wagasa - Japanese umbrella
Umbrellas were first introduced to Japan in the year 552. They were imported into Japan by envoys of the King of Baekje, an ancient Korean kingdom. Varieties of “Wagasa” include “Bangasa”, which is simple and sturdy, “Tsumaoregaza”, lightweight with a handheld collapsible canopy and “Janomegasa”, slender and lightweight. They are all rain umbrellas but if you hang them upside down like modern-day umbrellas, water will accumulate at the head and it will cause damage to the “Wagasa”.

They were commonly stored by hanging them from the ceiling or the eaves of the house. While excellent at staying waterproof, Wagasa uses “Washi” or Japanese paper, that is susceptible to damage by moths, humidity and heavy rain. Also, as they are made from natural materials (bamboo, wood etc) they ended up becoming very heavy. Because of that, they would be opened facing downwards to avoid putting too much burden on them, and then turned upwards.

Later on in the Meiji period (1868 -1912), the use of “Yougasa”, or “Western-style” umbrellas became widespread and “Wagasa” eventually vanished. These days you might see them offered for rent at tourist spots but it's very rare to see them being used as rain umbrellas. However, in rural areas you can still find “Wagasa” manufacturers and they are handing down traditional techniques to the present. A “Wagasa” can be a great idea for interior decoration but there are also modern-style “Wagasa”.

They feature many colors, ribs and are strongly built. In contrast to the usual 8 ribs, they have 16 or 24! They won’t turn inside out in strong winds and can bear up under driving rain. It's so sturdy that once you've used it, you won’t want to use anything else! Check one out if you've been thinking it's about time to replace your old one!

So, what do you think?

The charm of Japanese arts & crafts is in the “Fuzei”, or aesthetic sense, that has been developed throughout the history of Japan. When you buy Japanese arts & crafts as a souvenir and then use them overseas, your outfit will overflow with elegance and exoticism. For those of you who say - “I've heard about it before...”
“I'd like one but I'm not sure...”
How about making Japanese arts & crafts a part of your life?

It is my opinion and summary. Please acknowledge that there are various opinions.